Friendship

Friends are a funny concept aren’t they? You meet this stranger and you’re like “You. I want to do random things with you forever. I want to share my life with you. I wanna tell you all the stupid things I think of.”

I have three friends that I have known most of my life, and whom I adore beyond measure. These girls are the girls that cry with me when I talk to them about Christo, they get mad with me when I tell them a member of my family was mistreated, they laugh when I tell them I fell over, and check on me and my family when one of us is unwell.  These are the girls I don’t talk to every day but I would run to if they needed me. I love them with the kind of love you love your own. I love them because they love my family with a love you haven’t experienced before, and vice versa. One of them helped with #Project324 last year (you know its you papaokori). One of them makes me laugh like there’s no tomorrow and is my soulmate.

My point is that these people are embedded into my soul and they love my brother as much as i do. I want to tell you about something extraordinary one of them is accomplishing today. She currently holds 3 Guinness Records:

  1. The Longest time in an abdominal plank position (female) is 3 hours, 31 minutes and 0 seconds
  2. The Longest time in an abdominal plank position (female) with 60pounds on her back is 23 minutes and 20 seconds
  3. Most handstand pushups in 1 minute is 35 pushups in 31 seconds

These 3 records she broke to prove to the world that you can do anything you set your mind to, despite all odds.

Today, 21st July 2017, she is attempting to break another World Guinness Record. This time she’s doing it for a little girl called Stavriana. She will be attempting to break the record of 1206 knuckle push ups to 1300 knuckle push ups in 1 hour.  Stavriana suffers from Cornelia de Lange syndrome and Crohn’s desease. She is only 7 years old. She is the youngest of 5 siblings, all under 18, and is being raised by a single mother. She is in pain every day and the money is being raised to enable her to travel to Israel for an operation that will make life a bit easier for her and her family. The aim is 50,000 euros. You can donate through paypal at https://www.paypal.me/helpstavri

20217241_1799824326700146_12291763_n-1

I could write pages about how inspiring this woman is. But I will never be able to  tell you how she makes me feel. This girl is magic. People around her love her because of how unapologetically she loves people.

She has overcome medical predictions and countless hardships in life. Yet, she is always the one giving. She is always the wise one, the funny one, the one you go to. The brave one.

I know that our town, our island will embrace you and Stavriana today. I know that they will give, and make you proud. I know you won’t expect the love you will be suffocated with today. I also know that no one deserves this more than you.

No good luck needed. I’m with you,  my sister.

One thought on “Friendship

  1. Pingback: Shopping with Autism | Just a boy

Leave a Reply

