Sisters

I read a story yesterday about an autism sister who was in a glass box for 50 hours to raise awareness for autism.

 Meg Jones, 21, has a brother on the spectrum – he has Aspergers. She stayed in a 3x2m glass box for fifty hours and raised over £3,000 for charity during the challenge. She set this up at Dundee’s Tesco Riverside store as a metaphor for the isolation those with autism can face. Regular shoppers used post-its to leave her messages of support. “It was difficult trying to speak to people on the other side of the box, I wasn’t hearing what people were saying. A lot of families that have a child with autism have said that getting funny looks when they’re out and about is something that they have to deal with on a day-to-day basis. So, there were a lot of people walking past and just looking at me like, ‘what on earth is she doing in a glass box?'” 

During the last couple of years I’ve met sisters from all over the world. There’s an unspoken bond between us because we live the same lives in different cities, with different people; we had the same childhood yet we have never met. We find inspiration in random places and we build our lives around our siblings. We are sometimes the Others. All these women are strong, motivated and kind; they go above and beyond every day and they do it with grace and candour. They are an inspiration to me.

Chantale, an ambassador for Autism Canada who also took time to help with #Project324, released a song for her two younger siblings, Mike and Kevin who are on the autism spectrum, in 2014. Her lyrics speak to me, as i imagine they do to all siblings, in a way that can’t be described.

I follow a page on facebook called “Autism Through a Sister’s Eyes” which is written by Shaina and follows the journey of her amazing brother Josh, who is on the spectrum. Josh is funny and smart and his stories make me me smile, Josh is so much more than his autism.

Erin wrote to me a year ago telling me about her younger brother with autism and how she was in college getting her diploma and on her way to becoming a Developmental Services Worker.

Liana talked to me about how she believed that everything she is was because of her little brother, Petros. She studied speech therapy.

Michelle studied Cognitive Science Studies because she wants to “show the world true autism and what it can create ❤ “.

I’ve had the opportunity to meet so many beautiful souls through sharing our stories – and the sisters I meet are like sisters I’ve had all my life; it’s a bond we have no words for.

21 3

Leave a Reply

