Ashley’s lifeline

Ever wonder how somebody with Asperger syndrome experiences the world? It’s alright for me to sit here and lecture you about how I see my brother seeing the world but let’s face it – I don’t know. But Ashley – Ashley is an Aspie, who writes about being an Aspie. I met Ashley when I wrote “10 Confessions of an Autism Sister” and he told me that he was working on a book, he was moving house, travelling, writing and working with ABC on a short film.

Ashley – as he so eloquently puts it – is an Aspie, trapped in a box “trying to get out to throw the lifeline down to [others] who are in a similar situation“.

Video by Michael Bromage | Ashley Smith | Matt Curnock | Natalie Fernbach |

I’m an Aspie.

My senses are heightened, which makes life interesting.

In this video I’m giving you the opportunity to step into my shoes and take a walk with me down the street so you can experience what I see and hear.

My senses are always on and I can’t turn them off. I find it difficult to filter stimulation from the world and sometimes things can get crazy, but I have learned ways to manage difficult situations.

If you know someone with autism, I hope my video gives you an idea of what they could be going through on any particular day. To learn more about the life of an Aspie, you can read my stories on ABC Open. Search for: Sir Ashley Smith.

Leave a Reply

